StakeholdersOur Members

Chama Cha Mapinduzi

The Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM; English: Party of the Revolution) is the dominant ruling party in Tanzania and the longest reigning ruling party in Africa. It was formed in 1977 following the merger of the Tanganyika African National Union (TANU) and the Afro-Shirazi Party (ASP) which were the sole operating parties in mainland Tanzania and the semi-autonomous islands of Zanzibar respectively.

Since the restoration of the multi-party system, CCM has retained its popularity, winning all the past five general elections in 1995, 2000, 2005, 2010 and 2015. Jakaya Kikwete, its presidential candidate in 2005, won by a landslide receiving more than 80% of the popular vote. In the last election, it won 186 of the 239 constituencies, continuing to hold an outright majority in the National Assembly.

Contact Detail

P.O. Box 50, Dodoma, Tanzania

Tel : (+255) 22 2
Mobile: (+255) 76
Fax: (+255) 22 218 5245


Party Leaders

  • Jakaya Kikwete (National Chairman)
  • Philip Mangula (Vice Chairman–Mainland)
  • Ali Mohamed Shein (Vice Chairman–Zanzibar)
  • Abdulrahman Kinana (Secretary General)
  • Muhammed Seif Khatib (Secretary for Organisation)